Bioengineering students in the lab

Current Trainees

Postdoctoral Fellows

Peng Chen, Ph.D.

pchen4@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory

Glenn Hepfer, Ph.D.

rhepfer@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory 

Cherice Hill, Ph.D.

cherich@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory

Annsley Mace, Ph.D.

amace@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory

 

Ph.D. Candidates

Farhad Ahmadi

fahmadi@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory

Can Aslan

caslan@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, PhD
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory 

Ryan Barrs

rwbarrs@clemson.edu
Mentor: Ying Mei, PhD
Bio/nano-materials and Tissue Engineering Laboratory

Daniel Bonthius

bonthius@musc.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory

Nathan Buchweitz

nbuchwe@clemson.edu
Mentor: Yongren Wu. Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Lab

Jiaxin Chair

jchai@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory 

Hongming Fan

hongmif@clemson.edu
Mentor: Tong Ye, PhD
Nano and Functional Imaging Laboratory 

Charley Goodwin

cgoodw4@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, Ph.D.
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory

Daniel Gordon

digordo@clemson.edu
Mentor: Yongren Wu, Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Laboratory

Nate Hyams

nhyams@clemson.edu
Mentor: Ying Mei, Ph.D.
Bio/nano-materials and Tissue Engineering Lab

Mohsen Karshenas

mkarshe@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, Ph.D.
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory

Josh Kelley

jkelle5@clemson.edu
Mentor: Yongren Wu, Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Laboratory

Charles Kerr

kerrch@musc.edu
Mentor: Ying Mei, PhD
Bio/nano-materials and Tissue Engineering Lab

Michael Kurtz

kurtz3@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, PhD
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory

Peter Kurtz

pkurtz@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, Ph.D.
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory

Hwaran Lee

hwaranl@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, Ph.D.
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory

Dinghe (Larry) Liu

dinghel@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, Ph.D.
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory

William Nelson

wfnelso@clemson.edu
Mentor: Jeremy Gilbert, Ph.D.
Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine Laboratory

Sophia Silver

sesilve@clemson.edu
Mentor: Ying Mei, PhD
Bio/nano-materials and Tissue Engineering Laboratory 

Abirami Soundararajan

abirams@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Bioengineering

Shuchun Sun

shuchus@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, PhD
Tissue Biomechanics Laboratory

Lizzie Walker

mewlkr@clemson.edu
Mentor: Yongren Wu, Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Laboratory

Marshall Wilson

mbw5@clemson.edu
Mentor: Hai Yao, Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Laboratory

Master of Engineering Candidates 2022- 2023

Mentor: Yongren Wu, Ph.D.

Orthopaedic Lab Bioengineering

Kazzandria Alaniz

kalaniz@clemson.edu

Logan McDaniel

lmcdan@clemson.edu

Abbigayle Merck

abbigam@clemson.edu

Karly Ripple

karlyr@clemson.edu 

Masters of Science 2022- 2023

Sophia Hennessy

schenne@clemson.edu
Mentor: Ann Foley, Ph.D.
Cardiac Regenerative Medicine Lab

Avery Madden

aemadde@clemson.edu
Mentor: Yongren Wu, Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Lab